Another thing to love about September: cooler days = baking weather.

Summertime baking is a challenge. Not that I won’t labor over a cake in 90-degree heat. I will. Sweating and baking in a house without air conditioning is not the worst thing in the world. Especially when you imagine yourself working off ounces in advance of putting on pounds.

This Sunday was perfect baking weather, though. Summer’s on the wane. There’s just a hint of fall in the air. It’s nothing more than a feeling, a cast to the daylight and the sense that time is moving forward. Daytime feels more precious because there’s just a little bit less of it.

It’s a wordless feeling. Something that’s so familiar – this prelude to the change of seasons. And, so, like I said, it’s baking weather.

Bruised peaches from the farmer’s market at $1 a pound, so big that a few bruises hardly put a dent in their beauty. And, from the grocery store, blueberries – already out of season here and now expensive. Raspberries somehow on sale! These I mixed up in a fruit cobbler and set to bake and bubble in my oven.

But it was baking weather again so I could not be content with just one dish. I turned to Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s “Vegan with a Vengeance” thinking to find a cookie recipe that would somehow be a little more morally uplifting than say your standard Toll House. Even though most of her recipes are complicated, and even though I am not a vegan, still I knew I’d find what I wanted here. I have never made anything from her cookbooks that was not great. I just adapt the veganism as I want.

I found her Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe right beside her Sparkled Ginger Cookies recipe that I’ve made before and which is out of this world. But this time it would be chocolate chip. She starts the recipe with a disclaimer that it is in no way healthy. OK. Fine. I just wanted to bake something yummy after all.

It was!

Image

